Boar Stuffed Peppers & Primal Countdown

29 12 2011

How stuffed are you feeling from the holidays??

I pulled the stuffed peppers recipe from Mark Sisson’s website as I intended to make peppers in the crock pot over the hectic holidays. I wanted to test drive another recipe before I go “live” with the 30 days primal experiment. I find I am excited and feel like I did before my WLS, in that I am critically looking at my day to day foods and figuring out what I am going to keep, and what gets shelved for 30 days.

This is my last day of work for 2011, and I have a stash of “snacks” in my office, roasted soya nuts which need to go in the garbage, some turkey jerky (which can stay), coffeemate is gone, and pre-mixed hot chocolate full of chemicals-gone.
Just trying to make the transition come 2012 an easy one, and one set up for success, much like the WLS.

I ran to the market before the holidays and was drawn in with all the different pre-made stuffings they had, pre-spiced and ready to be stuffed into a turkey! My butcher had four flavours of bread-based stuffing, and two types of pork based stuffing. I bought a pound of pork spiced after he assured me there was no bread crumbs added to the stuffing, to supplement some boar sausage I had taken out to stuff the peppers with.

Crock Pot Pork Stuffed Peppers

adapted from Mark’s Daily Apple

4 large peppers- green, red, yellow.. whatever you want
2 lbs of ground meat
1 onion, minced
1 tbsp EVOO (or coconut oil, bacon fat etc.)
Half a carrot, grated
2 fresh jalapenos, chopped
1 cup salsa
1/2 tin of tomato paste
1 chipolte in adobe sauce
1/2 cup of chicken stock

Grab a large pot and warm up your fat. I had plans to do this in the crock pot, but ended up just pre-cooking everything, stuffing it into the peppers, and storing it in my fridge for a couple of days. We were go, go, go over the holidays so I made this up on Christmas morning, not sure when we were going to actually eat it.

Saute onion, grated carrots, and jalapenos until they are squishy.

Once the veggies are nice and limp grab your protein sources, and add to the pot to brown. We have some nice boar sausage from a local vendor and some of the yummy pork stuffing ready to go. Liberate the boar from the sausage casing and brown with the pork.

I didn’t want to add too many spices until everything was browned up because both the sausage and the pork had seasoning. If you are using an unseasoned meat, post browning, add some spices. At this point I had prepped by green peppers by cutting the tops off, and gutting the seeds and ribs from the interiors so they are now vessels ready for meat.

Once browned, I drained the fat. I know there is some fat still in the meat but there was a lot of excess we don’t really need to be ingesting. I used the chipolte can as a disposal vessel. A good 1/2 cup of fat.. bleech.

Taste the meat to see if it needs any spicing up. At this point, turn off the heat, add the tomatoe paste, salsa, chipolte and half a cup of chicken stock (optional).

Tada! In a casserole dish, into the fridge. When I was ready, preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and bake with the lid on for 40 minutes, until the peppers are nice and soft.

Nuts on these are a-okay. This makes 4 large peppers, with extra tucked around the sides… WLS portion is half a pepper.
Calories 212, Carbs 10g (NET 8g), Fat 11g, Protein 18g, Sugars
5 g

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

