Meat Cupcakes-Primal Styles & Update

3 01 2012

So…so far, so good. Working out is happening four or five times a week, I pop out of bed again this morning, I weighted myself at my doctor’s appt and am down 3 lbs (talk about carb bloat), the allergies are still gone and I only miss cream in my coffee. I am count my blessings.
Me before the wheat cleanse

This new challenge has pushed me to stretch my culinary muscles a bit, which is good. I was feeling stale with my current 200 recipes in rotation (lol) and I really just love the challenge.

I have a bunch of recipes lined up for the weekend and I am excited about it. Jess has asked for one pot meals.. so I am thinking a Beef Bourguignon, a classic around my birthday, and a crazy deconstructed Chili dog with jalapeno coleslaw.
My mother always use to say ‘Never throw out the baby with the bathwater’ so I re-looked at some of my old recipes and re-jigged them for a more primal lifestyle.

Tonight we are having beef cupcakes, with sweet potatoe-green chile whipped topping. Perfect sized dinner with a nice tomato-avocado-balsamic vinegar toss on the side.

This weekend we are off to the market to get some yummy pasture raised meats from our butcher, and next weekend is my birthday weekend and we are going to Black Hoof for dinner on Sunday!!

Our girl Heather comes home from the UK, and I am excited to see her and the tales are spinning about NYE in the UK… should be a great catch-up.

Dinner tonight.. sorry for the crude pic. It was delicious!!

Kat’s Quick Meatloaf Cups & Green Chile Sweet Potato Topper

1 lb of ground meat – I used ground beef
1 egg
1/8 cup of sweet heat Frank’s hot sauce
1/2 shredded carrot
1 tsp ground chile
1 tsp Worstershire sauce
3 green onions stalks, chopped
1 fresh jalapeno, stemmed and chopped

1 large sweet potatoe
1 tbsp Normandy organic butter
hot sauce
1/2 can of green chiles

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and spray full sized muffin tins (this makes 8 servings). Mix the ground beef and spices-egg and squish the meat into the muffin tins, making them level with top of the pan. Set aside until the oven is heated and pop in for 30 minutes.

Chop up the sweet potato and boil in water until they are yielding. Drain water and get out beaters to whip the potatoes. Add butter, green chiles, and spice and whip. If this needs a bit more liquid, add some chicken stock until you get a smooth consistency .
Scoop potato mixture into a ziploc bag and cut the tip.

Check the done-ness of mini meat loaves and let cool. Fish each meat loaf out of muffin tin, pip on the sweet potato and set on plate. These are equally delish cold for lunch the next day OR re-heated. I made these last night and Ken re-heated them tonight in the oven while I made the salad. Dinner was ready to be eaten by 6pm!

Because we cleaned up so fast I prepped two pepper squash, a head of garlic, and half a carrot in a 11 x 14 pan, added some EVOO, cumin, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and 2 tbsp of coconut sap sweetener and threw it into a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes. It smells delicious in here!!! I am popping them in the fridge for dinner on Friday night, as we are having smoked salmon fish cakes, with pesto aoili dip and these roasted deliciousness.

Actions

Information

7 responses

4 01 2012
Jude

Black hoof! My fave. You will love it!

4 01 2012
jess

Black hoof is so much awesomeness-miss their place across the street for brunch!

5 01 2012
geokatgirl

I am pretty darn excited about next Sunday.. oh so many sweet breads and crispy pork belly.

On a similar note, I am going to hang out at Whitehorse on Saturday and see if I can buy some duck fat, some duck breasts (i know they do smoked ones) and try and make a Turducken… but maybe like a terrine version.

We will see…

5 01 2012
nal0107

This sounds soooooo yummy, I will definitely be trying this recipe out!

9 01 2012
Beth

These look great!! Can’t wait to try them.

9 01 2012
geokatgirl

Thanks Beth… They are fun and can easily be morphed into many inspired themes… Greek style with olives and feta cheese, Italian stype with a splash of basil, oregano and some marinara sauce…

Play with them..

9 01 2012
geokatgirl

Thanks Beth… They are fun and can easily be morphed into many inspired themes… Greek style with olives and feta cheese, Italian stype with a splash of basil, oregano and some marinara sauce…

Play with them..

Leave a Reply

