Cashew Butter Gingersnaps: Primal Update

7 01 2012

Primal diet is moving along, I worry about my portions and my fat intake but am going to ride this out for 30 days before I make a judgement call. Food is super easy… I don’t seem to get the fuss. I will admit to putting dairy in my coffee back in.. I was finding it too nasty with the cococnut milk cream. I am using the coconut milk or almond milk for everything else, so I figure I am still well within the 80% primal zone.

So a run down of today’s menu is:

~Breakfast – coconut milk with coffee ice cubes, and a scoop of chocolate protein in the blenders
~1/2 a coffee at the market with cream and sweetener
~Lunch – 1/2 cup of greek salad left over from last night (oil and vinegar dressing) with 2 ounces of smoked chicken from the market, primal peach pepitas cookie
~Americano with sweetener and cream from Te Aro
primal brownie
~Sauerkraut, half a turkey sausage, and some roasted pepper squash with cinnamon and Normandy butter, 1/2 cup of cut up strawberries for dessert
~1 litre of water so far and 2 hours of walking in

Not a bad day overall.. and not what I would call weird or restrictive by any means. Maybe I am just so use to eating no bread, and this may look weird to all of you.

What made my day was the sauerkraut and sausages from Starskys we were having for dinner – YUM and these cookies (see recipe below). No one ever has to twist my arm to eat sauerkraut or kimchi.. I love cabbage, but fermented cabbage is so way more delicious. Primal stresses fermented because it is good for the ole GI track.. forget probiotics when you are eating as little as 1/4 cup of this lovely salty, crunchy stuff.

You know that recipe on the back of the Kraft PB jar, where it says “3 Ingredients to make Peanut Butter cookies”? Well, I thought “why can’t I make those cookies with an approved nut butter? So I founds some cashew butter and the rest is history. If you make these, the raw dough is pretty fantastic tasting… just warning you now.

Cashew Butter Gingersnaps

1 cup nut butter (not peanut butter, but maybe almond? etc)
1 egg
1/4 ground cloves
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp ground cinnamon
3 oz of crystallized ginger
10 drops of vanilla stevia

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and parchment paper a cookie sheet
Chop chunks of crystallized ginger into small bits and add to the bowl.

Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. This shot is to show off my new Lea Valley rasp.. she is so amazing. I used it to grate the fresh nutmeg.

Roll the balls into similar sized balls and flatten on a baking sheet. Pop into the oven for 12 minutes or until the edges start to get brown, cool before eating. I would store these in the fridge or freezer… leaving them out is dangerous. These are fantastic and great for the gluten free folks as well. This recipe made 22 cookies.
YUMMO

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 01 2012
Shelley Millen

Oh my God Kat, you are an inspiration woman. Seriously have kicked my ass in to gear to get it together. I love when I check my email and there is something in there from this site.

I found a web site Sparkpeople.com and it allows you to track your daily diet and then gives you a run down of how you did and what needs to be inproved. I know you told me but what app or web site do you use to track your daily food intake? I need to call you though I have some questions!! Miss ya.. keep up the good work!!

8 01 2012
kat 2

Shelley you need to come over for a night and we can spend the day in the kitchen making up a bunch of things for you to take home. We will hire Ken to fetch us drinks and good cheese from the market.

Leave a Reply

