Expensive Butter, Cinnamon Jello & Other Primal Hardships

9 01 2012

Another primal update.. from the land of coconut milk.

So first off, I FEEL great. My nose and mucus membranes have never been so clear in my entire life. It is like I am on a permanent Reactine.
I will admit to waking up on Sunday looking pretty puffy, dry flush in my cheeks, and my skin was red and blotchy. I am not sure what that was from.. I didnt feel itchy in the least, so I know it wasnt some sort of allergic reaction. Whatever it was, Ken thought it was a fever and sent me to have a nap after my Bodyflow class, where I slept for 2 hours and woke up feeling fine. Illness averted.

I am still jumping out of bed in the morning, had a day of feeling full and not wanting to finish my snack that afternoon, and plugged in my stats to see if I was eating “too much”. Relief!
Calories were 1068 (before the tea with cream I am drinking right now), 42 grams of carbs, 49 g of fat, and 125g of protein. Protein is a little higher than usual as I went out for sashimi, which added 60g of protein to my day.

So right on track, don’t crave anything, I dont feel hungry, and all in all, this has been pretty easy. I think being off sugar for almost 3 years has made it an easy transition.

My cheesemen at the market tried to entice me with cheese, but I did buy from them before Xmas this hand churned Italian made butter. Butter is suppose to be sweet, and the flavour of the butter is in part, due to what the cows are eating. These Italian cows were happy indeed. This is small batched, organic, beautiful butter… if anyone has had good Normandy butter, this is better. It instantly melts in your mouth. HELLO BUTTER.. at $15 a pound, worth EVERY penny

The Butter
from the website
Beppino Occelli butter is traditionally made, with fresh cream, taken from milk while it is still warm. It is light straw yellow in spring and summer when the cows are nourished in grassy meadows, and whiter in winter, when they feed on hay. The raised symbol of the mountain embossed onto the block, the packaging and labeling are all carried out by hand according to the most genuine of dairy farming traditions. “Beppino Occelli butter is best tasted raw on a baguette or simply on its own and is by far the favourite” (Test of the thirteen best butters in the world, Wine Spectator, USA)

YEAH, it is THAT good. If you ever get the chance to buy it and try it out, you really should. It is a mouth experience like no other.
If the packaging doesnt draw you in, then the imprinted cow on the block of butter might.

I am off the chemicals this 30 days, which means no protein bars, nothing with any weird names, no processed foods, and certainly *insert sigh* no out of the box jello. I will admit to still making an occasional batch of jello, with unflavoured KNOX gelatin and some ALT milk kicking around.

Tonight I felt like cinnamon almond milk jello… so I whipped some up, and it is gelling in the fridge as we speak.

Kat’s Almond Milk Cinnamon Jello

1 pkg of KNOX unflavoured gelatin
1 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk
1 tea ground cinnamon
1 tsp of liquid sugar twin OR 10 drops of vanilla stevia
1/4 cup of hot water

Assemble ingredients and grab a small bowl.

Pour the hot water in the bowl and empty the contents of one pkg of gelatin into it, floating the gelatin on the top. Neglect for 10 minutes.

In a saucepan on the stove, heat the milk, sweetener, and cinnamon until just before boiling. You will really have to whisk to get all the cinnamon to incorporate into the milk.

Stir in the slightly clumpy unflavoured gelatin and make sure it has completely dissolved into the hot liquid.
Pour into 4-1/2 cup bowl and let chill in the fridge.

So as you can see this primal stuff really has me suffering.. just me and Jesus on the cross. Don’t let anyone tell you this is a hardship and I would take yummy butter over a slice of cake any day of the week.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

