Twinkie Declares Bankruptcy – Day 11 Primal

11 01 2012

Are the two related?? LOL How am I doing?? My answer is “What is the big deal?” This lifestyle has affected my day to day very little. I still mourn the loss of Coffeemate, and will have to think long and hard whether after the 30 days is over whether I start back on the “coffee crack” or not. My doctor makes this whooshing sounds when I mention it and starts in on me with the whole “IT ISNT REAL FOOD.. it’s like a twinkie”

Needless to say this is in my frontal lobe as Hostess, maker of the Twinkie has declared bankruptcy. Sad for the 20,000 workers who work for Hostess, but a minor victory for all those who KNOW that they are pushers of an unhealthy, Hey-eat-my-white-bread-and-get-heart-disease products. I felt a little smug when it was announced on the news this morning.

I have been scouring Health-Bent.com and we tested out one of their recipes last night. Slightly unorthodox, but who doesn’t love a good hotdog, and The Sausage King at the St Lawrence market makes a mean hotdog, in turkey, beef or chicken. Check it out. I will admit to plugging the nutrition into My Fitness Pal to see where the numbers came out, and included the coleslaw into the mix. Shocked at how the numbers were not as bad as expected.. hotdogs get a bum wrap. I really liked the crunch of coleslaw on top of this “chili” and then the French’s mustard as a topper. It was like eating a Coney Island dog. Good times.

Paleo Hot Dog Chili w/ Jalapeno Slaw
modified from Health-Bent.com (in bold)

1 lb. ground meat* (I used ground turkey)
1 package hot dogs, chopped (I used organic beef dogs from the market)
1 can Rotel tomatoes, juice drained, chopped small (small can of organic tomatoes, drained)
1 c tomato sauce (passata-no seasonings etc.)
2 chipolte peppers in adobe sauce, chopped finely (Goya brand)
1 t garlic powder
1 t cumin powder
** I added half a chopped onion

1 red cabbage, sliced thinly (Dole pre-bagged coleslaw..making my life easy)
1/2 c mayo
1/2 red onion, sliced (omitted this)
3 T pickled jalapenos, finely chopped** (we used a 1 tbsp of hot cock sauce)
5 T pickled jalapeno juice** (we used 4 tbsp of cider vinegar)
1 T yellow mustard

In a nice deep Le Creuset pot, fry up the chopped onions and brown the ground meat. Add the package of chopped hotdogs and spices, and let them cook off the raw flavour for 3 minutes. Add tomatoe sauce/passata, tinned tomatoes and chipolte peppers and let simmer and reduce. I found it was liquidy, but an hour on the stove on a slow simmer with the lid off was perfect. Ken and I made this the night before, and the re-heat had great flavour.

The next night I grabbed my bag of pre-chopped cabbage (i was being lazy) and plopped it into a large bowl whilst the chili was re-heating. I mixed the mayo-cider vinegar-hot sauce-yellow mustard together to make a dressing and poured over the coleslaw and tossed.

I scooped out 1/2 cup of hotdog chili into a bowl, added 1/4 cup of coleslaw to the top, squeezed some mustard over the whole thing and sat down to eat.

Essentially you have re-created a southern chili hot dog smothered in coleslaw.. minus the bun and cheese. IT WAS SO GOOD (i left my camera at home, so imagine that the picture below without a bun)

DELICIOUS… I would make it again and like I said, the numbers didn’t come out too horrible… Jess, this is a total one pot meal that makes approimately 6 cups of chili, with loads to freeze. At our house coleslaw is something we munch on all year round… good for the lower GI and crunchy!
calories 223, Carbs 8(NET 7g),Fat 15g, Protein 15g, Sugar 2g (40:40:20 ratio is dead on for primal)

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 01 2012
mikstidbits

Ooh that looks delicious! Im soo hungry now and I just ate a bunch of cookies 🙂

11 01 2012
glutenvygirl

My son loves chili dogs…I will have to try this, I bet he will love it! We are gluten-free, but I lean more and more towards paleo every day.
I have a friend who just started going “primal” and he is blogging about it as well. I will try to send him to your page! 🙂

11 01 2012
geokatgirl

thanks glutenvygirl! It was really good, and while one wonders what is in a hotdog, buying it from a good butcher is an option I can live with. A little cheese would have made it perfect, and after my 30 day primal experiment, i am most definitely will be introducing some dairy back into my plan.

So many people have varying sensitivities..mine was unearthed after my weight loss surgery..my whole life I lived with bad allergies as the status quo.. who knew it was because of the grains?

Leave a Reply

