A Good Primal Wife

16 01 2012

First a primal check-in. Overall check in on the primal diet is that it is really good. I am enjoying the challenge, I am clear as a bell in my sinuses and I have no congestion at all. My weight is holding steady but my pants in the hip region are loose, which for me is a good thing as this is where I carry some of my excess ‘junk’. Biggest AH HA moment this past week is I have really upped my weight training, and I have little or no soreness. I am not walking the walk of the crippled the next day. I can and have been doing 10+ “boy” push ups every night. I am amazed I can do the full on push ups and am fine tuning them so I am getting full range extension and dip. I throw in a little 2 minute plank at the end since I am on the floor, and I am good for the day.
I never feel hungry ever, and can see that the higher fat has me eating less on my plate, and not wanting more. It also has completely stopped all the night grazing.. I dont pick at night anymore. I eat dinner, I make a hot almond milk or a decaf coffee at 9pm and call it a night. DONE

True love means never pooping on the floor unless you are one of our cats

True love in our house is making your husband a kick ass dinner knowing you aren’t going to be home. I used the crock pot stuff pepper recipe from Mark’s Daily Apple and morphed the recipe a bit using poblano peppers, no cauliflower, and lots of grated carrot, stuffed them into the pepper, and tinfoiled the peppers for the fridge. Ken was working from home the next day, so I popped the covered pan in a 200 degree oven for 8 hours so he could have a nice Primal meal that night. I love my husband!!

Peppers prepped for the next morning.

So second feather in my cap is the bacon apple coffee cake I used as my birthday cake. A bow to Jan’s Sushi bar for the recipe. This recipe is devoid of dairy, wheat, grains, nightshade and sugar!! You would think it might suck.. oh BOY you are SO wrong. Ken kept wanting to make coffee so he could have a piece of cake. We spent this past birthday weekend drinking loads-o-coffee and eating bacon apple cake. GOOD TIMES

This cake is best made in a good ole cast iron skillet. If you precook the bacon make sure you heat up and grease your skillet with some bacon fat so it is easier to lift out and invert. It was tricky but I did make it happen.

Bacon-Apple Almond Upside Down Birthday Cake

from Jan’s sushi bar

2 small tart apples, such as Granny Smith or Macintosh
4 ounces thick-cut bacon, diced
1/2 cup coconut sugar

2 large eggs
1/4 cup light olive oil
1/2 cup coconut sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 1/4 cups almond flour
1/2 teaspoon kosher or sea salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (added this …rogue)

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.

Cook the bacon in a 10″ cast iron skillet over medium-low heat until crisp and all of the fat is rendered. Take the skillet off of the heat; remove the bacon with a slotted spoon to paper towels and set aside. Drain all of the bacon fat except 2 tablespoons and reserve for another use.

Sprinkle 1/2 cup coconut sugar evenly over the bottom of the skillet, then scatter the bacon over the sugar. Arrange the apple slices on top of the sugar and bacon.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the eggs, olive oil, 1/2 cup coconut sugar, vanilla extract, and lemon juice until well combined. In a separate mixing bowl, stir together the almond flour, salt and baking soda. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients in 2 or 3 additions, stirring and scraping down the sides and bottom of the bowl each time, until the batter is smooth – it will still be “grainy” because of the almond flour, but make sure there are no lumps. Spread the batter gently and evenly over the apples and bacon in the skillet.

Bake the cake for 25 to 35 minutes, or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.

Place the skillet on a wire rack and cool for 10 minutes. Run a thin, flexible spatula around the edges of the cake, then invert a serving dish on top of the skillet. Carefully, using pot holders and/or oven mitts, flip the skillet over on top of the serving dish and carefully lift away from the cake. Use the spatula to place any bacon or apple slices that may have stuck to the bottom of the skillet back onto the cake.

Allow to cool completely before serving.

I think if you wanted to exchange the bacon, pecans might be a good choice. It would make it like a southern pecan roll. GOD I loved those and would get them every year when we went to Florida. Now filed in the folder “you were fat because…”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

