Day 17 Primal, Over the Hump

17 01 2012

So I can’t believe it is already January 17th and I have been primal for 17 days. The days have flown by. As I said in my check in yesterday, tummy loves this, I miss cheese, I get full WAY faster, and my recovery time at the gym is pretty non-existent.

I ate a raw food called Almond Dream bars yesterday that were INCREDIBLE, and they had Buckwheat sprouts in them. I groaned when I thought I may have eaten a grain. While they are not a grain per say, they are on the fence with respect to if they should be included on this diet. While I liked that they added crunch to the bar, I used some sunflower seeds, which in moderation, are a-okay. Not all seeds are made equal, and if you want to learn more about what seeds are better, and which ones to avoid, click to Mark’s Daily Apple – A Quick Guide to Edible Seeds

So these almond dream bars were totally dreamy, and made by a Raw food place here in Toronto called Live Food Bar. I am a meaty individual so eating raw is sort of out of my comfort zone and I expected these were going to be just ‘okay’. Was I ever wrong! I ate one and immediately looked at the ingredients calculating how I could replicate them at home. The thing about raw is it is pretty light on ingredients. HEH

I made them at home last night and Ken was eyeing me and saying “That looks like soup, I am not sure this is going to work”. Frankly, I was thinking the same thing, but put my game face on and said “Of course this will work, they will be delicious” What the heck do I know about raw food?


Kat’s Almost Almond Dream Bars

adapted from Live Food Bar

3/4 cup of almond butter (fresh if you can get it)
1 cup coconut butter (aka fat)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp liquid sugar twin
5 mehjool dates, no pits
10 drops stevia extract with vanilla (taste batter, and omit this if you feel it is sweet enough already)
1/2 scrapped vanilla bean pod
1 handful of sunflower seeds, or whatever you have going in the house

Pull out your food processor and whiz together the butter and coconut oil, add the vanilla, sweetener and dates and process until smooth. Taste to see if you want to add the stevia, blend in if you do.

Pour entire contents into a 8 x 8 pan. Throw the shelled sunflower seeds into the pan, and pop into the freezer for two hours until hardened. Pop out of the pan and cut into 20 small squares, and store in the fridge.
Sorry for the crude pic!

This makes a lot, so you can easily cut this recipe in half if need be. I gave one to Ken who saw them at the goopy liquid stage. He asked me what I was giving him.. I told him fudge. He bit into it and said “OMG these are awesome”. I agree they are good, but they still need a bit of work. I am also thinking I may add a scoop or two of protein powder to see where that takes me. Ideally these would be power snacks if they had a tad more protein in them.

Look for an update of this recipe in weeks to come.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

