Primal Lamb Rogan Josh

27 01 2012

I am not much of a lamb person, but my husband loves it, especially the Ontario raised stuff because it has a milder taste than the stuff from New Zealand. I figured if I was going to eat the lamb that I was going to have to tone down the lamby-ness of the meat a bit, so I settled on a curry based dish.

see even the lamb knows it’s good

This is a morphed recipe from another primal blog, Nom Nom Paleo and a traditional Rogan Josh recipe. I am all about fresh spices, and one of my gyms is right in the heart of Little India.
Thank you curry gods for making gamey meat edible. A special thanks to my partner in crime Jude who help me figure out why my stews had pellet tough meat chunks, I was simmering at too high of a heat. Needless to say this lamb was tender and melt in your mouth. Something I would never have thought I would say about lamb.
Ken was all over this stew, and exclaiming we could make it with pork next time. It was fantastic and the coconut milk gave it a creaminess in lieu of using sour cream. Sorry for the lack of step by step images on this recipe. I got into it and then forgot to take pictures.

Lamb Rogan Josh
adapted from Nom Nom Paleo & Food and Wine recipe

1 tbsp oil of choice
2 lbs of cubed lamb, Ontario is preferred
2 onions, diced
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 tbsp of minced fresh ginger
1 tbsp + 1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
2 bay leaves
14 oz of tomato puree-stewed tomatoes
1 can of coconut milk
1 cup of chicken stock, use only what you need to get the stew consistency you need
1 tsp garam masala
1/4 cup of cilantro

Get a big old dutch oven out as this is a one pot meal. Start with oil of choice, i used some bacon fat, and heat in the bottom of the pan. Throw in onions and let saute for 5 minutes, add garlic and ginger and let them saute, add carrots, and neglect for 10 minutes as you prep the lamb. The lamb I used was pre-chopped but I prepped any fat or bits off of it, and cut it down to bite sized chunks. I added the lamb and let it brown for 20 minutes. It doesnt need to be cooked all the way through because it will simmer for hours!

Add the spices and let them heat up and cook off for 3 minutes, add the tomatoes, coconut milk and as much chicken stock you need to get it to a stewy consistency. I added some xanthan gum at the end to thicken it up.
Liquids in and let the simmering begin!

Let this simmer all afternoon if you can, and lower than medium, as you want a nice slow cook on this. I always thought if it wasnt almost boiling then it wasnt cooking, how wrong was I? I left this on 3.5 on my stove and gave it a stir on occasion more to convince me that it was hot enough to actually be cooking.

About an hour before dinner you add the cilantro and garam masala. Just before serving I used some thickener (potato starch would work as well for the primals in the crowd) to thicken this up.
Ready to be served up

This recipe made 8 cups of stew, which I promptly froze half for Ken when I am away in Arizona. Serving for WLS is 1/2 cup with some veg on the side, normal serving is 1 cup.

Actions

Information

One response

1 02 2012
Sonya

you should have used the tangine for this !

Leave a Reply

