Primal 30 Day Wrap Up & BBQ Pork Stuffed Jalapeno

31 01 2012

So today is my last official day as Primal in my 30 day primal challenge.

I am heading on a trip to Arizona, the land of soft tacos and yummy food, and have made a choice to continue on my primal journey, with the caveat that I will be eating some cheese on this trip. I can’t have carna seca with some cheese on the top of it but hold the sour cream.

I AM CRAZY FABULOUS!!

I have to say this has been the very best experience, it forced me out of my rut, had me think about food again, and re-look at some of the garbage I was throwing back. I think “garbage” is relative, given I have been sugar free, and bread free for almost 3 years. Too many chemmy protein bars and artificial sweeteners. My gut has never felt better and I am super hesitant to start introducing any of it back into my diet. My tummy is flat, like washboard flat – no bloat, no extra fat.

Overall I have lost 8 lbs (4.93% for all you BL fans), and am back to my weight I was when I checked in at BARIX for my 2 year follow up. It is my goal to maintain this weight. The BIGGEST thing is my body fat has dropped (I am under 20% body fat), my lean muscle mass is back up and my shoulders are killer cut.

I have been craving BBQ. I think my head is already in Tucson, the land of BBQ, so Sunday night I grabbed 2 pork tenderloins, pierced them to shove 10 cloves of garlic into them, and popped them into a dutch oven with 3 cups of chicken stock, into the oven at 200 for the entire day (Ken was working from home). Ken had them out of the pot and shredded by the time I came home for dinner. The day before I had made a KILLER primal BBQ sauce, which I heated in the microwave, tossed into the shredded pork, and served with some crunchy coleslaw for dinner.

The pork tenderloins weighted about 3 lbs, which is a load-o-meat, so I needed to use it again. Did I say I was leaving for 10 days to Arizona?? Typically before I leave, I stockpile Kat-made dinners for Ken, so he just has to thaw them and pop them in the oven for dinner, and lunch the next day. He wont cook a veggie when I am away, so I eyed a bag of jalapenos in the crisper and had an idea.

Primal BBQ Sauce

1 1/4 cup of quality chicken stock
6 oz can of organic tomato paste
Juice of 2 limes
1 tbsp coconut oil (or fat of choice)
2 shallots, minced
3 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 tsp of spicy mustard
1 tsp of ground chipolte
1 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt
1 tsp stevia, splenda, sf maple syrup.. sweetener of choice

Heat fat of choice in saucepan, add garlic and shallots and let them cook until they are soft ~ 10 minutes.
Add mustard, spices, and let the spices cook off the rawness for 1 minute.
Add chicken stock, tomato paste, lime and stevia, and whisk until incorporated.

Bring the liquid up to a boil, and then turn down to less than medium and neglect for 45 minutes. Turn off heat, give it a stir, and store in fridge to use the next day.

Heat sauce in the microwave the next day and add to shredded chicken or pork.
You are left with a mound of shredded BBQed meaty goodness, so I grabbed some jalapenos (they are huge right now) and prepped them by slices off their faces, coring and seeding them, and stuffing them with the BBQed shredded meaty goodness.
Bake in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes, and test to see the done-ness/softeness of the peppers. I throw lime halves in to roast as the oils from the limes infuse into the peppers. It is really a good time. I WILL be shredding cheese on these before I serve them tonight. 80% RULE!

Kat’s BBQ Pork Stuffed Jalapenos

Actions

Information

4 responses

31 01 2012
glutenvygirl

Congrats on the 30 days! I hope you enjoy the cheese šŸ™‚

31 01 2012
geokatgirl

thanks glutenvygirl!! I am excited

1 02 2012
Sonya

Srsly. I would have waited until midnight and loaded that badboy with CHEDDAR !

1 02 2012
kat 2

Sonya, these were fabulous. The shredded pork is the easiest thing ever to make!! And then a re-purpose in a pepper..delicious!!

Leave a Reply

