Primal Pumpkin Spice Cake w/ Cinnamon Icing

19 02 2012

This is a special addendum to my first post today. Two posts in one day!! I am feeling guilt that I haven’t blogged in a bit, but the reality is because of the Sick we had and me being away, it has been 3 weeks of Thai butternut squash soup and Kat prepared frozen meals for Ken. I haven’t really been cooking. I am making up for it this weekend.
Get your own cake!

I have, however, been market-ing. We took a 2 hour break from minerals and went to St Phllips Farmers market in Tucson. I love that place.. I bought Blue Moon blend from Adventure Coffee Roasting, more spices from Native Seeds/SEARCH, and two types of dates from the date ladies. My bag got mega-searched coming home as it was full of Mexican oregano, spices and hot sauces. OLE


Pumpkin Cake Bars with Cinnamon Icing

from Heath-Bent by Meaghan Keatley
**adaptation for WLS people in bold

For the Pumpkin Cake
1 c pumpkin puree
1 c almond butter
1/2 c raw honey (I used sf maple syrup and 10 drops vanilla stevia)
2 eggs
1 1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1 t vanilla extract
1 t cinnamon
1/4 t nutmeg
1/4 t cloves
**1/2 t ginger
**1/2 cup of cranberries, dried

For the Cinnamon Icing
1/4 c coconut butter
1/4 c coconut oil
1/4 c raw honey (I used half coconut sap, and half splenda)
1 t cinnamon

For the Pumpkin Cake
Preheat your oven to 350F.
In a medium sized bowl, combine all the cake ingredients and mix thoroughly to combine.

Pour into an 8×8 oven safe baking dish (I suspect you could squeeze 12 cupcakes out of this recipe if you use a muffin tin). Bake until completely cooked through, about 30 minutes.


For the Cinnamon Icing

In a mixing bowl, combine all ingredients and use either your mixing blade attachment or a whisk to beat the ingredients until fluffy.

Once the pumpkin cake has cooled, cut it into 9 squares and remove from the pan. Now…if the cake isn’t completely, 100%, no doubt in your mind, cool you are not allowed to proceed.
I’m telling you, if your cake isn’t cool, the icing will just slide right off into a pile of goopiness and all will be wasted. If you haven’t experienced what disastrous-ness comes from not heeded the above warning, you only need try it one time to learn. Use a small offset spatula or a spoon and drizzle the frosting over the top.
**OMG they are so right!! This cake needs to be stone cold before you smear the coconut icing on it. I will say Ken and I loved the cinnamon topper, I wasn’t sure I was going to add it, but I am glad I did, even if it did slide off a bit 🙂

No pics of the icing, but this is out of the oven and cooling.

Store the Pumpkin Cake Bars you haven’t immediately annihilated in the fridge. The icing will harden in the fridge, let it come to room temp if you’d like it soft. If you’d like it softer, faster (for the impatient types, like myself) the frosting will melt beautifully if you stick the cake bar in the microwave for 30-45 seconds. Goes great with your morning coffee or tea!

Winnie approves the cake and coffee combo..anything that promotes me lingering on the couch instead of doing chores is a good thing in her books. You’ll note my flat, bloat free tummy in this pic.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 02 2012
frugalfeeding

This looks yummy 🙂

18 03 2012
catcap13

Uhm … I just read this and I’m excited!!!!

Leave a Reply

