Primal, ‘The Sick’ & Pumpkin Casserole

19 02 2012

So I am back from Tucson. Such a fabulous business trip, saw colleagues, Kim and I had a grand time shopping and looking at spectacular minerals and equally ridiculous things-giant dinosaurs, hottub sized amethyst geodes, gorgeous displays.
Cold medicine was my friend..i felt like a criminal buying cold meds at midnight at Walgreens

The down side to my trip was I got Mega-cold 2.0. I had been Mega-sick about a week prior to leaving, and things cleared up and I thought I was in the clear. I worked out twice in Tucson and then was struck by Mega-cold 2.0. I lost my voice, fever and serious sinus infection. What a bummer. At first I sort of thought it might be the primal diet, but in hindsight, I cycled out of this cold pretty fast compared to most people. I was 60% in Tucson and I sort of lost my appetite, because who cares what you are eating when you can’t taste it. I came home down 3 pounds. Hopefully the loss isn’t due to lack of working out. I was doing push ups and planks on the floor when Kim had her shower in the morning.

Anyway, I am back, back at the market this morning, and just cooked up a storm this afternoon. I was back in my element. I have decided that primal is sticking around for a while. My tummy loves the lack of dairy, grain and beans.. I have no bloat.

A pet peeve had a silver lining today. My grocery store only carries the 28oz can of pumpkin purée. That is a heck a lot of pumpkin, and once you open the can, you are stuck trying to figure out what to do with all that pumpkin. So today I made the pumpkin chicken cream casserole from PaleOMG, and had about 1 cup of pumpkin left to make a rocking pumpkin snack cake with cinnamon icing. I was in pumpkin heaven today. Look for Pumpkin Snack cake as my next blog.


Paleo Pumpkin Cream Chicken Casserole

From PaleOMG with modifications noted n bold

1.5 lbs of chicken breast, cubed
1 medium spaghetti squash
1 head of cauliflower (**I roasted only half a head)
1 can of pumpkin puree (14 oz can)
½ can coconut milk
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 small onion, chopped
2 tablespoon of fat (I used bacon fat)
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp ground nutmeg
** 1 tsp garam masala
** ¼ cup of cilantro
** 1 tbsp hot cock sauce
** ½ cup of fried onions (I know they aren’t primal, but we love them)
** chicken stock on standby

Preheat oven and line a 9 x 11 pan. Cut up half the cauliflower and cut the spaghetti squash in half. Place cut side down in dish and sprinkle cauliflower around the squash and pop in the oven. Check in on everything after 45 minutes, and if the squash is yielding, then it is done.

As the squash-cauliflower is in the oven, crack out a heavy pot and heat up your fat of choice. Add the onions and garlic and sauté for 10 minutes. Add the cube chicken and cook. The original recipe says to cook 2/3rds but I know my husband, who has a tendency to eat something right out of the fridge, so I didn’t want to poison him with 2/3rds done chicken.

Once the chicken is done, there will be chicken juices in the bottom of the pot…this is a good thing. Add spices and let them cook for 3 minutes.

Add coconut milk, pumpkin and cilantro. Give everything a big stir and taste. It needed something so I added some hot sauce, and salt. At this point, this was a thick stew so I used some chicken stock to thin it out. This stew has to mix with spaghetti squash and cauliflower and be re-baked, so too thick and it would be cement when added to the squash-cauliflower.

As the stew is simmering, prep the spaghetti squash out of each of the half squash using a fork. The cauliflower and prepped spaghetti squash are sitting in a greased 9×11 inch pan. Pour the thinned stew over the squash-cauliflower and combine. Sprinkle the onions on the top of the casserole and saran wrap for later or pop directly in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes until everything was heated through.

This casserole reminded me of the old school canned mushroom soup Kraft kitchen casserole of my childhood. This makes a lot of deliciousness.. many thanks to PaleOMG for this deliciousness.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 02 2012
Stina

WANT!! This would be sooo good I my guts today. Dreaming of it.

19 02 2012
Kat

Stina, we had it reheated for lunch today. Your clan would love this..it is creamy, and full of veggie and has a slight curry hint from the garam masala.

25 02 2012
jess

Made this last night. Quite delicious, although like you Kat-i kicked it up w curry and hot sauce. I think next time I would use beef!

25 02 2012
geokatgirl

It is a good base recipe…it would be good as a stroganoff, with mushrooms, pearl onions in a beef-cream base

Leave a Reply

