Rant & Primal Butter Turkey Meatloaf Stuffed w/ Carmelized Onions

12 03 2012

So it’s been awhile. This is my blackout period every year, post Tucson to post March Break is 6 weeks of “what the fuck-ness” and complete stress at work. I can SEE the light at the end of the tunnel, as this was launch day of March Break. Couple this is us having our lovely circa 1885 loft building sold and knowing we are moving in a year out of a neighborhood we love because we are looking at $2600 a month to stay. ARGH total shitstorm of a month.

So the blog has been on hold… It is in times of super chaos that my empathy meter goes way down. “So you say you don’t know have any time to work out or cook properly?’ or “You say you are super-busy having naps”..PFFT I just don’t want to hear it..I struggle with managing everything so your excuses are lame-o. A lot of mom’s on the internet would tend to agree.. it is amazing how many families are primal-paleo these days. If a mom with two kids, four workouts a week, and a blog (Nom Nom Paleo is an example) can do it then no one has a leg to stand on as far as I’m concerned.

RANT END

As part of prepping for an ultra busy week, I make up a meal for Monday night. If I know I have something ready to go for Monday, then it sets a good tone for the week. Yesterday, I caramelized two whole Vidalia onions in butter. Just roughly chopped them and let them slow cook in a pan for half an hour or so. Nothing smells better or tastes better than caramelized onions. I put the onions in the fridge for the meatloaf I was preparing later in the day.

Butter Turkey Meatloaf Stuffed w/ Caramelized Vidalia Onions

by me

2 lbs of ground turkey
1/2 pkg of MGH butter chicken spice mix
(warning, using half a package will create some heat!)
1/2 cup of crushed pork rinds (or breadcrumbs if you arent primal)
1 egg
1 vidalia onion, chopped and saute in butter the night before, or whatever your fat of choice is
1/4 cup of crunchy fried onions to top

Line a baking pan with tinfoil so clean up is a breeze, grab a large bowl and if you are making and baking right away, preheat oven to 375 degrees. This will need to cook a good 40 minutes, and I used a meat thermometer to test for doneness because it is hard to tell when something is stuffed.

Grab bowl,plunk in meat, egg, crushed pork rinds and 1/2 of spice pack (less for the faint of heart). Squish it around until everything is evenly mixed.

Grab a litle more than half of the ground turkey and create a loaf shaped bowl in the lined baking dish.
This is where you are going to plunk the pre-carmelized onions.

Grab the rest of the meat and make a cap for the meatloaf, making sure you seal the sides nice and tight so no lovely onions escape. Top the whole thing with some Indian fried onions (not really primal) and either pop in the oven or saran wrap in fridge until you are ready to bake.

Finished with a cross section of the pocket-o-onions in the middle. Post baking consumption was a good time and spicy.

Ken was saying after the first bite this was a re-do recipe. I think next time I would serve it with some yogurt sauce drizzled on it. I ate half a slice, Ken ate a full slice with some sweet potato baked fries (homemade) on the side. A nice primal end to a very hectic day.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 03 2012
Kat

A blog I love to read almost daily just did a meatloaf post and commented on how hard it is to make meatloaf appealing in a photo. I whole heartedly agree with her. My pic at the end wouldn’t make me want to make it..trust me though, it is damn delicious!

11 06 2012
jess

Making this tonight…doing two mini loaves (w bacon on top) and freezing one…its been so long since I’ve had meat loaf. I’m using beef tho

12 06 2012
geokatgirl

I love the caramelized onions in the middle… I wont make a meatloaf again without it… so yummy

Leave a Reply

