Once You Go Primal, You Can’t Go Back…

21 03 2012

SO the last 3 weeks have been the most stressful 3 weeks of my entire work year coupled with the loft-building being sold, and having another call from Women’s College Hospital to say they found more cervical cancer cells. So upsetting that I am the most fit of adult life and I am constantly being sent to Sunnybrook Hospital Cancer ward, the most depressing place on earth.

SO… my eating has slide a bit the last couple of weeks… been throwing back some inappropriate snacks on occasion, an occasional diet pop all in the name of “rewarding” myself, which at the end of the day wasnt really a reward because it made me feel like garbage. Couple the above with an occasional non-primal dinner. Ken loves this Nova Scotia fish casserole I make and asked me to make it in this two week rotation. I got all the fish, and prepared it with milk and cheese, and was sorely disappointed. I should have used coconut milk. Ken wrinkled his nose when he ate it and said “I remember this being better”. Agreed… our palates have changed during this 3 months of Primal and you really can’t go back.

While it is was an interesting couple of weeks, I have been ON PLAN since the weekend and am starting to feel so much better. My workouts are even better when I eat primal and thankfully I kept on my four workouts a week track …I can’t go back knowing how I feel when I eat this way. It is easy for those who havent given this a go to fully understand the HUGE difference in how you feel.

I must tip my hat to Megan Keatley at Health Bent..whenever I start to waiver I head over to her website and pluck off a new recipe to try. This weekend we tried her Cowboy Breakfast Skillet (below) and this week we are going to try her Philly Cheesesteak in a Bowl with a flank steak I have in the freezer… sounds good, doesnt it??
I will say her Breakfast skillet coupled with the awesome breakfast sausage we get at the Sausage King, had me ohhhing and ahhing the whole night. I love eating primal!!


Cowboy Breakfast Skillet.. Breakfast for Dinner!

by Megan Keatley, Health-Bent

1 lb breakfast sausage *breakfast sausage from Sausage King
just rocked this dish
2 medium sweet potatoes, diced
5 eggs
1 avocado, diced
handful cilantro
hot sauce
raw cheese, optional
s & p

Preheat your oven to 400ºF.

In an oven safe skillet, we used cast iron, crumble and brown the sausage.

Once it’s brown, use a slotted spoon to remove the sausage and let it hang out while we cook the sweet potatoes. Try to reserve as much of the grease as possible.

Toss the sweet potatoes into the sausage grease and let them get crispy and cooked through.

Add the sausage back into the pan.
Make a few wells in the pan–one well for each egg. Crack your eggs into the wells.

Place the skillet in the oven. We’re just baking the skillet long enough for the eggs to set, about 5 minutes.

Now, turn the oven to broil and hit up the top side of the eggs for a few minutes, but don’t let the yolk cook all the way through–unless you don’t like runny yolks. But man, oh man, the runny yolks go down really nicely with the crispy sweet potatoes. Just sayin’.
Remove the pan from the oven and douse the whole thing with avocado, cilantro and hot sauce.

The end result!!! SO SO SO DO-OVER..so long fish casserole, you have been replaced!

thank you thank you thank you Megan!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 03 2012
Tina

Kat-Baby! Hey, Cervical Big-C is an easy fix! TRY not to freak out! Just stay on those people–you know the drill about being your own advocate. You are one of the strongest people I’ve ever met; you can deal with it!
This recipe sounds amazing. I’m stopping for sausage and sweet-p’s on the way home. Yummy!!

22 03 2012
geokatgirl

This recipe is a great last minute dinner that is equally yummy for leftovers.
The cervical thing is such a drag..I have been good about being on top of my post diagnosis check ups, but this last bit of news has the cells higher up.. so who knows what will happen. I will wait until my surgical oncologist has a look under the hood before we start to worry.

Leave a Reply

