Primal Carrot Cake Balls…Seriously

1 04 2012

Cake and Primal?? How could it be as cake usually has flour, dairy and the evil sugar.. how could this even be possible??

Once I went primal I thought my cakeball days were over. When I was watching my sugar and carbs I would make cakes from black beans or from sugar free mixes and whip up a cakeball from that using a bit of cream cheese and sweetener. Once I gave up chemicals, dairy and wheat flour I thought my cakeball days were behind me. A sacrifice I was willing to make for the sake of no more sugar alcohol, dairy or flour bloat.
Healthy Carrot cake … the oxymoron of cake

WHELP.. I make these sugar free, low carb, flour-wheat free, raw, dairy free and egg free cakeballs this weekend and was very skeptical as I thought “what is left to make these taste remotely delicious and cake-y?” These ARE delicious.. so much so I just ate another one. You aren’t going to believe it.. honestly delicious and better than any other dessert I have made to date. These are even better than my Coconut Cherry Rip-Off balls. NO FOOLING!

Carrot Cake Balls
adapted from the Urban Poser

2 large carrots (about 8 ounces by weight)
1 large apple, no peel
1 1/4 cup shredded coconut (not sweetened)
1/2 cup of chopped raisins
3/4 cup of roughly chopped walnuts or pecans
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
pinch of salt
2 tablespoon sf maple syrup (for those who arent watching sugars, honey or regular maple syrup would be great here)

1 tsp liquid sugar twin or 16 drops stevia (for those who can tolerate sugar add another tablespoon of maple syrup-honey)

3 tablespoons nut butter (almond, pecan, cashew…. or *sigh* peanut butter if you must)

1 tablespoon coconut oil (or if you dont have this, just another tablespoon of the nut butter from above)
juice of half a lime

raw or high cocoa content chocolate (I had two bars of sf white chocolate kicking around.. but use old Easter bunnies if you have them)

Execution
Get out a big bowl, and a tin lined with plastic. This is where you’ll be depositing the balls-o-cake to pop in the freezer for 30 minutes, so the plastic will prevent sticking to the bottom of your dish.
In the large bowl start with finely grating carrots and apple. This is the bulk of the manpower for this recipe. Dont skimp by thinking your food processor will get this fine enough without blasting the whole thing into a pulpy mess. Once finely grated, pick the mass up, pop it into a cheese cloth and squeeze it until all the juice comes out… you want this dry. Plop it back into the bowl.
Add all the other ingredients and mix until combined.

You want the “dough” to have enough stickiness to form into balls. If you are fighting to get a ball to stick together, help it along with adding a bit more nut butter… it will act as a glue.

Once you have produced your cakeballs I made mine with a 2 tbsp coffee scoop and got 20 balls), pop them into the freezer for at least 30 minutes. I neglected mine until the next morning.

As coffee was brewing, I got out my trusty just-right bowl for melting small batches of chocolate in the microwave. I find you need a shallow but not too shallow bowl, and one that isnt too thick or it will heat up and cook the chocolate to seize. Using the microwave in 30 second intervals and giving everything a big stir between is the best way to ensure your chocolate wont seize. Double boilers can either heat up too fast and dehydrate your chocolate= seize or add some moisture from the boiling water=seize. NIGHTMARE
Mix the melted chocolate after every 30 seconds in the microwave.

Roll each cakeball into the warmed chocolate. Because the cakeball is really cold, the chocolate will harden within 5 minutes. I let them sit on some wax paper until I can handle them, pop them into a container into the fridge or into your mouth!!
Dada!!

So no baking required for those who are baking impaired..and for those who are RAW, sugar free, gluten free, grain free, dairy free or egg free.. these are pretty okay as well 🙂

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 04 2012
dockspider

OMG, Kat these were so good I had ate them all before I went to bed. Thank you so much for the healthy, guilt free treats.

2 04 2012
dockspider

OMG, Kat these are so good, I ate them all through out the evening and they were gone by the time I went to bed. Thank you for the healthy, guilt free treats.

2 04 2012
geokatgirl

They are not bad for something that has NO grain or sugar in them..

9 04 2012
catcap13

I really liked these – love the nice juicy raisin and fruit surprise. Mmmm mmm good!

Leave a Reply

