Avocados = Food Crack

2 04 2012

Spring is here, everything is green, and avocado is in season. Fallbrook has the annual avocado festival, which I would LOVE to go to. I have driven through Fallbrook and there are avocado farms everywhere and I bought 20 avocados for $5!!

So avocados are also primal. Ken and I had a super busy weekend, and I had put two frozen chicken breasts in the crock pot thinking I could whip up something fast. This is a typical Monday night whip-it-up dinner. Because it is the spring, we are moving away from heavy stew-y saucy dishes and this is the perfect springtime meal..5 minutes under the broiler and dinner is READY!!

Chicken Stuffed Avocados
thanks to my friend @ work, Heidi S. for this idea!

2 avocados, ready to be eaten
1 cup of chopped chicken
1/4 cup of salsa or chopped tomatoes
4 tbsp of sauted onions (we were making a chili as well, so I grabbed some from the simmering pot- not necessary)
2 ounces cheese of choice, we used garlic cheddar
spinkle of Tajin or hot sauce on each

Pre-heat oven to 500 degrees on BROIL. Slice avocado in half, extract pit, and if the pit was small, use a small spoon and scoop out a bit more of the avocado so you can nestle the chopped chicken in each. As well, I took a bit off the bottom of the avocado, so they would sit nicely in a pre-foiled pan.

Stuff chicken in each avocado hole, top with onions and salsa, top with cheese and Tajin.

Pop into the hot oven and just heat it enough, about 5 minutes, to have the cheese melt, and the avocado warms up enough and becomes squishy and lovely.

Delicious and fast. If you dont have leftover chicken in your house, crack and egg in the avocado hole and broil for 5 minutes or so, until you get an egg firm enough to your liking or canned crab. My grandmother would make crab-avocado mini sandwiches when we came over.. fancy!!
enjoy

Actions

Information

10 responses

2 04 2012
Kath

I tend to eat avacados with a lil olive oil and fresh lemon juice. I am rethinking how I eat them now. Lol

2 04 2012
geokatgirl

Warm is exciting..it heats up the oils and the who thing gets all creamy and delicious. If you are a strict primal-paleo, omit the cheese..also an afterthought is to hit it with some fresh lime juice just out of the oven.. Drool

2 04 2012
geokatgirl

Afterthought would be hitting this with a squeeze of fresh lime juice when it comes out of the oven. Totally a good time

2 04 2012
glutenvygirl

What a fantastic recipe! Avocados are one of my favorite snacks. So yummy. I’ve never thought to do something like this – such a great idea!

2 04 2012
geokatgirl

Thanks!! I’ll post when we crack an egg into them… Like I said above, the oils in the avocado get warm and also like butter!! Total do over.

2 04 2012
Little Sis

You had me at avocado – but warm with stuff????! Genius.

2 04 2012
geokatgirl

Like green butter… Delicious

2 04 2012
Little Sis

That is exactly how I’ve always thought of them, so I’m pretty straightforward with avocado, wheat bread, coarse salt – lunch. But the warm idea does really sing out to me. Thanks!

2 04 2012
Karen

20 avocados for $5 is unbelievable. I have never had a warm avocado and this sounds like a great recipe to change that. Thanks.

2 04 2012
geokatgirl

California produces 60 percent of the world’s avocados…it was a good day when I went to the avocado farm
No such deals in Canada

Leave a Reply

