Screw You Jellybeans : Primal Lavender-Lemon Biscotti

3 04 2012

I SOOOOOO have this non-grain biscotti down to a science. Many thanks to Carolyn a All Day I Dream About Food as her recipe for walnut biscotti is my go-to base recipe for all biscotti tinkering. Many many thanks to Carolyn as she has guided me into the weird and wonderful world of low carb baking… and she is Canadian to boot, which makes her super cool!

So I wanted an Easter biscotti as my jelly belly biscotti wasn’t a stellar idea last year for Easter. I also like to have a “treat” in the house when everyone is chowing down on chocolate and peeps. Later this week I’ll share my pink pickled egg recipe. I can’t wait to try one!! Ken and I are staying put this Easter, which is nice. It will be super low key and I am excited about it!

Lemon Lavender Biscotti
adapted from a walnut biscotti recipe All Day I Dream About Food

2 cups almond flour
2 tsp food grade lavender, ground
1 tbsp lemon zest
1/2 cup of splenda or sweetener
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp xanthan gum

1 large egg, beaten
1/4 walnut oil
10 drops of stevia with vanilla
1 tsp lemon extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees, and parchment paper the baking sheet. Drag out the mortar and pestle and grind the lavender so it is fine.

Mix all the dry ingredients in one bowl and all the liquid (egg, oil, stevia, extract) in a smaller bowl.
Toss the liquid into the dry ingredients and mix to combine. If the mixture isnt dry enough to hold together, add a tad more almond flour.

Shape in a log on the parchment cookie sheet and bake for 30 minutes at 325 degrees, just until it starts to brown on the outer edges.

Let the biscotti cool, slice and bake again in a 200 degree oven for 15 minutes so they dry out.
I tested a bum end out of the oven, and am wow-ed by these. They taste like spring!! Screw you jelly beans… lavender lemon biscotti is my new favourite!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

