Pickled Pink Eggs: No Ribbon Wearing Required

26 05 2012

So everything is pink these days.. wear the pink ribbon, buy the pink coffee mug. One actually wonders how much money goes back to the pink charity and how much of the pink marketing is geared to women who like the colour pink. I know I’d eat a pink frosted cupcake in a New York minute if I could.

So I printed this recipe out eons ago thinking it was something to use my plethora of jam jars for because I am not a jam whore anymore. Eggs are a great protein, they are harder for me to eat, so I eat them slow, which is a good thing.

Ken loves pickled eggs..even pink pickled eggs.. because they make him fart. Welcome to my life everyone.

Pink Pickled Eggs
Adapted from julesfood

1 can of sliced beets, just for the juice
1 3/4 cups of white vinegar
1 cup sugar *1/2 cup splenda for me
1 1/2 tbsp whole allspice *i threw star anise in mine because i had it
1 stick cinnamon
8 to 9 hard boiled eggs, no shell
1 quart (4 cup) jar with lid

** half this recipe if you are using a smaller jar or don’t want to have to deal with eating 8 or 9 eggs. Once you crack the jar you’ll only have a week to consume these things.

Grab a medium saucepan and combine all ingredients except for the eggs and bring to a boil making sure sweetener is dissolved. Reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes.

Make sure you jar is clean and stuff in as many eggs as possible. Pour hot liquid over eggs and over tightly.

Store in cool place OR cool at room temperature 1 hour. Refrigerate to blend flavors, at least several days or up to several weeks. After opening, refrigerate and use within 1 week.

We opened ours and then made it into pink egg salad!!
strangest lunch ever? YES

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 05 2012
dockspider

Woman you are deserving of a medal! Sweet Jesus I can not believe he likes pickled eggs because they make him fart. Brings a tear to my eye just thinking about that.

27 05 2012
geokatgirl

WELL..honestly he loves eggs. He happily eats anything I make, which can get pretty weird at times. We are perfectly matched!

Leave a Reply

