Meat Skillets – Meaty Primal Fast Food

7 06 2012

I meal plan once every two weeks. People ask me all the time “how do you do it? How do you continue to make good meals day after day?” It isn’t rocket science, it is just spending an hour sitting down to plan. Ken and I love food, we love to grocery shop, we love to shop at the market…hence why we were fat. While we STILL love to shop, and cruise an occasional grocery store, we limit exposure. If you enter a grocery store once every couple of days, you WILL end up buying stuff you dont need, nor should be eating. Hence our two weeks rule. Sure we will pop to the corner market to pick up almond milk or cream if we need it, and happily pay the extra 50 cents it cost to avoid going into a grocery store and come out $40 later with the cream, almond milk plus 6 other items. Part of this new lifestyle is behaviour modification.
“we are living the dream grandma”

People/vendors at the market look my list and think I am crazy.I will endeavor to take a pic of my magical list for you to have a look at it. We are heading to the market this weekend so a list is being drawn up as we speak. Essentially my list is a food story board for my two weeks. Eat your heart out Pinterest.. people used paper before you were born.

So when I am having a blond moment in the morning I look at the list, pick a meal, and make sure the meat is thawing before I leave the house. There is never a rush for ingredients, because every ingredient I need is listed and bought. No pop outs to the grocery store.

Meat Skillets are based on Health-Bent’s Cowboy Breakfast Skillet. I have made a “pizza” inspired skillet, and this week we did a Philly Cheese steak inspired skillet. These are fabulous one pot meals that you can make and serve in under an hour with minimal oven time (which is important in the summer months)
I also love, love, love using my cast iron skillet. So good for you as it adds iron to your food and I can go from stove top to broiler and not have to worry about melting handles.

Philly Meat Skillet

loosely adapted from Health Bent

2 lbs of flank steak, or any beef, cut up into thin slices
1 red pepper
1 tbsp FOC (we used duck fat)
1 onion, sliced
1 handful of mushrooms, sliced
3 fresh jalapenos, chopped
2 tsp Montreal Steak Spice
4 to 5 eggs

potato starch for thickening

Start off with heating up your skillet and adding your FOC. You can do this one of two ways, onions and veggie browned first, or meat first. It is entirely up to you. We did the onions-veg first. Brown onions, then add chopped peppers and mushrooms and saute until limp.

Add the thinly sliced meat and saute only until it is slightly browned. Make sure your broiler is on in your oven. Add the spices and really give everything a good stir. If you have a lot of liquid in your pan, then you can either drain it, OR add a bit of potato starch and make a gravy. We will always choose gravy.

Get your eggs ready and crack them on top of the meat base. I added some avocado to get sort of yummy and buttery under the broiler. Slip this under the broiler in the oven for 5 minutes at least, watching to make sure the eggs are done to your liking. Some people dont like runny eggs (freaks)

Voila done! I always slip an oven mitt on the handle of my skillet because I am always inclined to grab the handle and not thinking it may be scorching hot.
I serve about 3/4 of a cup of this into my little plate and am STUFFED. This is a whack-o-protein and ultra filling. Experiment with using your skillet for last minute meals… use any veggie in the crisper that is looking a bit sad, and using a bit of curry or nutmeg can transform this into a Moroccan or Indian inspired skillet.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

