Skinny “MonkeyBUM” Cookies

19 08 2012

SO…after having a long and wonderful summer exploring, camping, vacationing…I am in “back to school” mode. This means I didn’t stop cooking this summer, it just means we ate a lot of the already 200 plus recipes in this blog. Thai flank steak salad, sliders galore, turnip “german potato salad” etc. It was a summer of eating and training at my new gym. I feel good and I hope you all had an equally fabulous summer.
Me making Liquid Nitrogen Ice Cream w/ the Summer Students

Sunset on Georgian Bay

Walking on the sea floor (low tide) in Nova Scotia

Some of you know in real life I call my husband, Ken, Monkey as a pet name. When I am mad, sad or need something I even shout it! His handle on XBOX is MonkeyBUM so when I saw this recipe I thought of him. He has been working from home almost one year and has managed to keep his weight steady while others in the office have struggled with the proximity to the fridge. I made this recipe as it would be good for a snack, seemingly sweet, but void of chemicals, dairy and most grains. This isnt considered a paleo recipe because of the PB and the oatmeal.. suck it grains!

I got this recipe from a wesbite called onceamonthmom. My additions are bolded below.

Skinny Monkey Cookies
by onceamonthmon

3 bananas
2 cups old-fashioned oats
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce ** i used PC unsweetened individual packed container
1 tsp. vanilla extract
Dash of cinnamon (optional)
1 scoop chocolate whey protein

Preheat old bessie to 350 degrees and line baking sheet with parchment paper. Face it, I am a super lazy baker who hates to wash dishes!!
Grab one of you cool retro mixing bowls and mash 3 bananas

These are the best sorts of recipes because then you can go hog wild throwing in the rest of the ingredients. You mix it all together and then practice patience and constraint by not sampling the batter. (hands off!) Let it sit for 20 minutes on your counter.

Plop little mounds of dough onto parchment paper. I used one of those small cookie scoops because I am OCD with wanting all the cookies to be the same size. I managed to get 35 cookies out of this mixture.

Pop into the oven for 10 – 12 minutes and don’t touch them until they are cool. These things come out nuclear and still gooey, almost like handling hot wax so no-touchy! Have a container on standby because these need to be refrigerated or they will start to sprout some penicillin.
Tada!

Servng per cookie is 47 calories, 7g carbs (6 NET), 1g Fat, 2g Protein

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

