“All I Want for my Birthday is Cream Cheese Icing”

13 01 2013

SO… I wont apologize for posting in awhile. I have had my head down working and working out like a crazy person. I am coming up for air and have been dragging my feet adding an index page to this blog so people can scan categories easily, to access entrees for chicken or primal/paleo desserts easily. I never expected to have over 300 recipes on here, and started this blog so I could keep tabs on things we liked to eat and have it travel with me wherever I am. At the cottage, you sometimes need to make biscotti or iced coffee!!
I have broken down and am paying someone to re-vamp my blog so it is easier to use. I sometimes long for the old school recipes and am sort of excited to look back to see what I was eating 3 years ago and maybe make it again. Stay tuned my friends.

Space Cupcakes, the final food frontier
space-cupcake1
So birthday in TWO days and I will be 43 years old. I dont feel old, nor do I act my age AT ALL. I really felt my age this past week though. Ken has talked a lot about getting a tattoo in his 40th year, so I booked us appointment at the beginning of 2013 to get this off his bucket list. I wanted to re-colour a tattoo I got when I was 18 years old with my sister Tricia in K-W. It wasnt until I was at Speakeasy with Emma as she completely revamped the tattoo did I realize the tattoo was 25 YEARS OLD! HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE? This set the tone for the low key birthday to follow. I told Ken I wanted:
grilled calamari salad with tzatziki from Astoria for my birthday and to get my eyebrows waxed. This girl really knows how to LIVE IT UP! I had to wait on the eyebrow wax because I got the mother of all stye’s in my eye and didnt want to scare my eyebrow lady. I also just wanted carrot cake… let’s be honest, I just really wanted to eat cream cheese icing 🙂

Me channeling Grumpy Cat
grumpy

So here is a recipe that is a morph of Morning Glory Muffins and Carrot Cake with a cinnamon cream cheese icing. Happy Birthday to ME.

Kat’s “I can’t believe I am 43” Carrot Cupcakes w/ Cinnamon Cream Cheese icing
1 Cup sweet potato (one smallish one, boiled & mashed up)
3 eggs
1/4 Cup sugar free maple syrup
1/4 Cup applesauce, unsweetened
2/3 Cup shredded coconut (unsweetened-lrg or small flake)
2/3 Cup shredded carrot
1/2 Cup cranberries or dried cherries, unsweetened
1 1/2 Cups almond flour
1 tsp cinnamon
a pinch of nutmeg, clove & cardamom
2 tsp baking powder

Icing
1 pkg of cream cheese
1/4 cup of butter
stevia with vanilla
1 tbsp cinnamon

Spray for greasing the muffin cups even if you use paper (trust me on this one) Lube the paper up so more of the deliciousness goes in your mouth.

Preheat the oven to 350 and get your liners ready with spray oil.
Whisk together the sweet potato, eggs, and sf maple syrup in a large bowl. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir together until combined.
Scoop the batter into 12 lined and lubed muffin tin cups.

Bake for 25 minutes when the tops are just starting to brown. Allow these to really cool.. like overnight, because of all the juicy starch in them they hold a lot of moisture and heat and need to cool before you hit them with cream cheese goodness.

So next morning throw the brick of cream cheese and butter into your KA mixer and neglect until blended. Scrap down the sides of the mixer and add spices, sweetener and blend some more. You can use Splenda here if you want.. maybe 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup would give you the sense of sweet. Scoop out cream cheese and plop it into an icing bag a.k.a ziploc bag and snip the corner. Sprinkle with cinnamon and consume freely.


I did a prelim nut on the cupcake without the cream cheese icing to see where this recipe stands, as it could easily be a morning muffin do-over.
177 calories, 15g carbs(9g NET), 11g fat, 5g protein, 4g fiber, 7g sugar
total muffin worthy…. and a good vehicle for the cream cheese IMO

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 01 2013
Beth

Those looks very tasty! I’m going to have to try it, but with a non-nut flour. Any suggestions on what would be a good substitute so the J man could partake? Beth

14 01 2013
geokatgirl

Beth, let me work this out. Are there any issues with soy product? I am thinking maybe a soy-arrowroot-vital wheat gluten mix. Let me work it out.

14 01 2013
Beth

There aren’t any issues with soy. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

