A Chance to Make these HOLES!

24 01 2013

I mean Pumpkin donut holes!

So I dont know why, but my life has been surrounded by Tim Horton’s timbits (aka donut holes for those unfamiliar with Tim Hortons) for the last couple of days. We had a box kicking around work and this morning, in a moment of weakness, I popped one in my mouth. It left a giant oil slick in my mouth and it was stale. I have to say the memories of “comfort” food are much better than the reality. It goes to show you how much my tastebuds have morphed… thank God.
that-hole-is-fuckin-sweet
Because I have been plagued by donut holes I decided to make some of my own. I was trying to decide what “special treat” I was going to make for my birthday re-do this Thursday with my coffee girls and guys. I *thought* I had a chocolate cake ball all sorted out when the pumpkin donut hole struck me as a better idea. Switched gears and made a batch up last night before I got called back to work because we had a flood. I curse cold weather, it makes pipes burst.

So while these dont look like donut holes aka timbits, they certainly will not taste nor clog your arteries like timbits either. These are grain free, sugar free goodness that remind me more of a scone than anything. God, how I miss bread.
Enjoy these at your next brunch and shoot the timbits an evil eye.

Pumpkin “Timbits”

1 cup Canned Or Fresh (cooked) Pumpkin
½ cups sf maple syrup
12 drops stevia with vanilla
½ cups Butter Or Coconut Oil, Melted
1 teaspoons Vanilla
3 whole Eggs
2 Tablespoons Buttermilk (or 2 tbsp milk with a dash of white vinegar)

1 cup Almond Flour
1 cup Coconut Flour
½ teaspoons Sea Salt
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
½ teaspoons Ground Nutmeg
½ teaspoons Ground Cinnamon
½ teaspoons Pumpkin Pie Spice

Spice for rolling in after OR cranberries to top

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and get your baking sheet out and primed with spray OR parchment paper. Mix all the wet ingredients together (first part of recipe) and set aside. Mix all the dry ingredients together in a larger bowl.

pumpkin pre mix

Mix ingredients together until you get a slightly thick batter. This always seems so loose for me but just wait a couple of minutes until the coconut flour starts to thicken things up. I swear that stuff is incredible. If it doesnt feel like the batter is thick enough to roll into balls, then add a *touch* more coconut flour OR use your cookie scoop and work with what you have. I chose the later because I didnt want to monkey around with a good thing.
Scoop 1 tablespoon of batter onto the cookie sheet, and I jammed a dried cranberry in the top. Pop in the oven for 20 minutes and let cool. Nuclear alert, these mothers will burn if you try and consume before cooling.. as well, they tend to be a bit bendy, so wait.If you want, add some glaze or roll in some splenda/cinnamon to create more of a donut feel and brew some coffee!

pumpkin holes

Tada! These made 53 holes.. and the WLS serving is probably two. Nuts are PER hole:
Calories 45, Carbs 3(2g NET), Fat 3g, Protein 1g, Sugar 1g
Dont be an A-HOLE and forget to try these!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

