Post-Move Psychos & Bacon Peanut Butter Cookies

21 04 2013

What a shitstorm! January to March I lovingly call my 100 days of hell as work is nutso. This year, as an added bonus, Ken and I moved and renovated layered into the 100 days of nonsense. I was telling my shrink the other day I feel slightly ambivalent coming out the other side of this craziness, and I realize what I think is ambivalence is just burn out and not knowing what to do with myself as I have been a gerbil on a wheel since December.
TQW-she-likes-to-move-it

Moving bites the big one but it is done and it was a fruitful exercise. It is amazing how much stuff we accumulated over the 8 years in the loft that we really didn’t need. Moving forward, both Ken and I are being very Zen about shopping and bringing “More” into the house. We moved to a much smaller space, where every item was scrutinized. It showed us we can live with considerably less than what we thought we could and still have all the things we love.

Cooking and experimenting in the kitchen has taken the biggest hit during my crazy time. I just made whatever was easy, so a lot of crock pot meals and soupy stews without a lot of thought. While I am still not back in the saddle like I once was, the cooking muscle does need to be flexed a bit so I made these peanut butter bacon cookies. When a recipe calls for bacon I always have like 6 strips left which I end up baking in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes until it is crispy and storing it in the fridge to use at a later date.

Saturday afternoon hits and I look around to a clean new apartment, freshly painted and everything in it’s place and think “What the hell am I going to do now?’ Enter Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies. While PB is not considered Paleo, it is delicious and something I can break-up with for periods of time, but I can never make the break-up stick. This recipe is adapted from the back of the Kraft PB jar.. where they want you to use a tonne-o-peanut butter… Krafty bastards.

Kat’s Bacon Peanut Butter Cookies
recipe adapted from Kraft

1 cup peanut butter, whatever brand-texture you have rolling
3/4 cup of Splenda
1/4 cup of coconut sap
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg
1 tsp baking powder
5 strips of bacon, precooked and chopped
1/4 cup of chopped peanuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and coat baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix 1 cup of peanut butter of choice (PBC) with the two “sugars” until you get a grainy mixture. Add vanilla and egg and stir in until incorporated. Add baking powder and give it a good stir making sure the baking powder is really in the mixture. You dont want weirdly rising cookies.
At this point just throw in the chopped bacon and chopped peanuts and mix until incorporated.

Grab a cookie scoop or use a spoon and roll one inch balls of dough and place on cookie sheet. This recipe makes just under 2 dozen cookies (18 to 21). Right before you pop them into the oven, squash the cookies with the back of a fork.

Bake for 15 minutes or 13 if you want them to be a bit bendy. Allow them to cool on the sheet before you move them as they will still feel slightly raw right out of the oven.. i assure you they are not raw, but wonderful.

tada! Cookies that are low carb, have a hit of salty bacon and dont taste meh. Did I mention we are going on vacation in a week?? This is going to be the longest and shortest week in history..more on vacation-palooza or what I like to refer to as “Operation lie on the beach like a walrus” in another blog post.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

