My Breakup with Peanut Butter & Lime Cashew Truffles

13 05 2013

I need to break up with peanut butter, and not even the good stuff, but the crappola Kraft kitchen chunky peanut butter. When you are eating peanut butter with a spoon in your office, you need to re-align your nutritional priorities and cut out the crutch food. Unfortunately peanut butter and I have a love-hate relationship. I can have it in the house for months and then when the stress hits the fan, the PB spoon comes out and I dive into the jar. I am not a whole-jar-in-one-sitting crazy about peanut butter, but will have a tablespoon or two before I get the face sweats and need to put it away. The whole relationship is very dependent so I need to make this break up stick.
Everyone has their food crush
natalie-dee-diet

Hence my new boyfriend… cashew butter. I like cashew butter because it has a very subtle taste and I thought instead of peanut butter truffles like in this recipe, I could try a fruity version with the cashew butter. This is the time of year that I crave lemon and fruit… as well as jelly beans, chocolate and apparently loads-o-peanut butter . I need something to help me get over my peanut butter break up.

Lime Cashew Nut Truffles

5 tbsp of butter or ghee, melted
1/4 cup of cashew butter
1 tbsp of lime zest
1/4 cup of splenda
8 drops of stevia (with vanilla)
1 tsp of lime extract (optional depending on how much lime you want)
1/2 cup of almond meal/flour
1/2 cup of chestnut flour

Melt butter in a bowl with the cashew butter.

Mix in the lime zest, “sugars”, and almond-chestnut meal until the dough starts to come off the sides of the bowl. If it is still sticking, then add a tablespoon of nut flour until the dough starts to come off the sides. This isnt an exact science given nut butters have varying degrees of oil in them. Dont worry, you can’t screw this up. Note my trusty drinking glass. If I keep drinking, I am less inclined to sample what I am making.

Start rolling them into tablespoons sized balls and refrigerate. I usually leave them overnight and then plan on coating them with chocolate the next day, because I am fancy like that.

Can you see the lime bits in them? Super yummo. These are great little treats to help curb some of the sweets cravings and make you feel like you are having dessert. I have my four year surgery anniversary coming up on the 27th and feel the need to make a re-commitment to the values of my surgery. I am not sure what I am going to do yet, but have been talking it over with Ken who thinks maybe a Yoga retreat, or a canoe trip in Algonquin with a friend might be a great marker of my health and some peace. I know on the day, the 27th of May, I plan to take the day off, hit Body Blitz spa, and definitely take a Joga class.

Actions

Information

One response

15 10 2013
(NOT) Pecan Pie Truffles | Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] (which are almond flour) and marzipan. I have many different styles of nut truffles on this blog, lime cashew truffles, the aforementioned peanut butter truffles, rumballs, and now pecan pie […]

Leave a Reply

