Cha-Cha-Chia Breakfast Pudding

16 09 2013

So my life right now is full of sickness. Both Ken and I have had a summer colds, and it keeps hanging on. As I type this I feel fine but my left ear is completely clogged and clicking. This cold is a juicy one. I also had a massive skin infection, probably some transfer from dealing with cat pee-poo. We are dealing with a sick cat who is on a downward slide to kitty heaven. Ken and I are cat nurses, administering pills and IV fluids to make her more comfy until it’s time to put her down.
When life presents a “re-occurring theme” I tend to wonder whether someone is trying to tell me something. Maybe Ken and I need to up our game with respect to our healthy lifestyle OR to celebrate the day-to-day given it could be taken from us at any time.

So as I was reading Paleomg I paused on her recipe post about breaking up with her bf and just wanting to eat her sorrows away with chocolate and caffeine. I can relate! So I decided to try her chia-chocolate-coffee pudding and morph it a bit for my rearranged gut. Almost 4and a half years after surgery and still have to start my day with protein. It has and will be my morning go to and I can’t fathom eating cereal or toast. The thought of it makes me a bit queasy. Oh how things have changed!

Protein Chia Pudding
Adapted from Paleomg

1/2 cup of cold coffee
1/2 cup of coconut milk (or whatever milk you use)
2 servings of any sweetener your choose
2 scoops protein – chocolate or vanilla
2 tsp cocoa powder
4 tbsp Chia seeds

Grab two 1 cup containers. Add to each 1/4 cup of coffee and 1/4 cup of milk of choice. Add sweetener and protein and mix thoroughly. Add 2 tbsp of Chia per container, stir and then give it a good shake after you secure the lid. Pop into the fridge overnight.
Consume at will the next morning. Both Ken and I think this stuff really keeps you full for a long time, and the carb-protein mix is really good for him to get him started in the mornings. This tastes incredibly decadent in the morning, which given the BS factor in our lives right now, seems to make things a little easier.
ChocolateChiaPudding02

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 09 2013
LFFL

I’ve been wanting to try chia seeds, but I get flaxseeds instead.

18 09 2013
Rebecca Tyler

Do you still use the Kaizen protein powder? I ask because the scoops are huge and I am uncertain it’ll mix into 1/2 cup of liquid

18 09 2013
geokatgirl

Our protein scoop measures 1\3rd of a cup. You want this to gel a bit like pudding so gauge it and add a splash more coffee if it is too pastey

Leave a Reply

