CrockPot Peanut Stew & Happy Fall

22 09 2013

Welcome to the first day of Fall. I missed you cardigan and knitting, I really missed you!
i-fucking-love-the-fuck-out-of-fall_large
It is no secret that I have a love-hate relationship with peanut butter. Beyond my addiction and need for a peanut butter intervention, I know from my experiences with a paleo-primal diet, that I have a bit of a sensitivity to it. I have come to realize that depending on the type of peanut butter and what it has in it, I have a mild reaction. I believe that says more about how they process peanuts and what they stick into peanut butter, than about those lovely legumes. I react to any and all Kraft product, even the “natural” one.. there must be a processing-roasting thing that gets me clogged up and itchy because raw, freshly ground peanuts from The Carrot Common smeared on a banana is a good time and I have no itchy palate after.

So fast forward to me last night, scanning the fridge and noting I have 3 jars of peanut butter on the go: a junk food JIF jar from the States, and two natural crunchy peanut butters; one is President’s Choice, one is the dreaded Kraft.

So I decided given the chaos of sickness, and that we are getting a new mattress delivered right around dinnertime, I would crock it up and create a peanut chicken recipe to blow out some of this peanut butter. This is a morph recipe of my West African Peanut stew (OMG so yum) and my peanut chicken wings (OMG so yum).


Crock Pot Peanut Chicken stew

by moi

8 to 10 chicken thighs, boneless-skinless (~ 2 lbs of chicken)
2 red peppers, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 bunch of cilantro, set aside for serving

2 limes, juiced (so approximately 4 tbsp of juice)
1 tbsp garlic powder OR 1 clove of garlic, minced
1/4 soy sauce (primal friendly one or not)
1 tbsp splenda or palm sap…whatever dry sweetener you use
1 tbsp sf maple syrup (or double the Splenda above)
1/2 cup of peanut butter
1 tbsp sriracha hot sauce
1/2 cup of chicken stock
2 tsp ground ginger OR a hunk of ginger thrown into the crock pot
1 tbsp fish sauce (optional)
1 cup of fresh cilantro, add before serving

Execution:
I usually say to saute the peppers and onion prior to throwing them into the crock pot as it gives the stew a better flavour but at 6am this morning, I was having none of it. I just chopped and threw half of the peppers and onions on the bottom of the crock pot, layered the chicken thighs in the middle, and threw another layer of onions and veggie on the top of the chicken.

I then grabbed a container and added all my liquid ingredients, and gave it a good stir. This is a lesson in patience as you know, a fat takes a while to incorporate into a room temperature liquid. Your sauce starts off like this:

And ends up looking like this but you have to work at it.

Throw the peanut sauce on top of the whole mess and crank on your crock pot on low for 4 -6 hours. I gave everything in the crock pot a good stir and the chicken shredded with a fork and little effort. Add you handfull of chopped cilantro for colour and added flavour. This is great recipe for those in their first year..sauce heaven. I served it with a side of crunchy arugula and some sliced tomatoes.

For 8 servings, all 3/4 of a cup (this recipe makes 6 cups of stew). Calories 220, Carbs 13(NET 10), Fat 12g, Protein 19g, Sugars 3

Actions

Information

One response

22 09 2013
theresaswift

Wonderful!! Love tasty easy recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

