LC Buffalo Chicken Casserole-Drool here!

30 09 2013

I secretly love getting American-ized recipes in my email inbox and RSS feed. Buffalo chicken wings is an all American recipe, like the coney island dog or grilled cheese.

This recipe was born from my Buffalo chicken soup and Anthony Bourdain’s CNN show, Parts Unknown. Last night’s episode was based in New Mexico, where the fritos pie is a big hit. Essentially they cut open a bag of fritos, dump a bunch of chili, beans, green chiles in there that Tony says is ‘like holding a bag of hot poo’ and then topping it with cheese. I was fascinated at how crazy it was and junk-fied. Buffalo Chicken wings are always associated with deep fried, high sodium, high fat and the casserole versions usually have rice-white potatoes and are junked out further by Campbell soup mix. Look, I dont like to judge but opening condensed soup cans to throw in your crock pot isnt cooking.

My shrink always says I am trying to re-invent bad foods and get great pleasure when I figure out how. Almost a perverse thrill that I can have my cake and eat it to post-WLS.
WELL.. she may be right but I may be crazy. All I can say is this casserole is “WINNER WINNER (BUFFALO) CHICKEN DINNER”
you-like-hotdogs-no

I dedicate this recipe to my friend Jude, who loves Anthony Bourdain, cooking, and a good spicy Buffalo chicken wing as much as I do.

Buffalo Chicken Wing Casserole
Adapted from countless American recipes by moi

Ingredients:
1 medium head of cauliflower
spray oil for 11×14 baking dish
2 carrots, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
1 onion, minced
1.5 lbs of pre-cooked chopped chicken
1 cup Frank’s Buffalo chicken wing sauce
1 cup of Greek Yogurt, 2% mf
1 cup of chicken stock
1 tbsp garlic powder
1 cup shredded cheese, your choice
2 oz (half a pkg) of Danish bleu cheese
4 green onions, chopped

Implementation:
Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees and chop cauliflower into small-ish florettes. I then spray the baking pan, pop the cauliflower in the dish and spray the tops of the cauliflower. Pepper to taste and pop into the oven for 35 minutes until the cauliflower can be easily pierced with a knife.

When the cauliflower is baking in the oven, get out a fry pan and heat some EVOO and plop in the onions until they get soft. Add the chopped carrots and celery and neglect until the carrots are just starting to yield. AT this moment, stop and do a little happy dance as you have just made your first Mirepoix. Anthony Bourdain would be proud.

Dump your mirepoix in with your cauliflower and let it cool. I roasted a chicken the night before and as well had some Lillydale turkey in the fridge. I weighed everything up to 1.5 lbs (which is 24 oz) and shredded it on top of my cooled cauliflower-mirepoix.

I got out a mixing bowl and mixed my hot sauce, yogurt, and added chicken stock to cut the too-thick sauce. Gauge the amount of chicken stock depending on the type of Greek yogurt you use. I added 1 tbsp of garlic powder, stirred and then coated the entire casserole with this mixture.

I topped the casserole with the two cheeses, cheddar and blue, and chopped green onions, saran wrapped it and threw it into the fridge for Monday night’s dinner. Pop it out of the fridge and into a 350 degree oven baking for 15 to 20 minutes to get everything warm and melty.

THE BEST part of this recipe other than the taste, are the nuts on this. ARE you sitting down? I divided this into 10 servings, which are about 3/4 cup of food.
Calories 211
Carbs 9g(7 g NET)
Fat 11g
Protein 31 g !!
Sugar 3g

WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER!!

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 10 2013
Jess

This looks amazing. Can you think of any subs for the Greek yogurt? I can omit the cheddar and i will crumble a bit of blue on top, but think the Greek yogurt would really make me unwell.

1 10 2013
geokatgirl

Totally use coconut milk and cut back on the stock if you feel the milk gives you the thickness of sauce. The stock was to thin out the Greek yogurt but I would omit it if you are using coconut milk.
Good luck and let me know how it goes so I can add an alt to the recipe

Leave a Reply

