Pumpkin Truffles = A Taste of Fall

24 10 2013

Those who read my blog regularly know I have a slight pumpkin obsession which kicks into high gear in the Fall. Right on schedule, the temperature dips and I am craving my fibreous pumpkin friend to beef up soups and stews to make my belly feel warm and happy. Pumpkin is fabulous for our systems, is versatile enough to throw into savoury things like chili or into desserts, which creates bulk and can replace grain flours in your favourite dessert.

Pumpkin is a miracle food with the exception of anything that Starbucks does with pumpkin. I am sorry Starbucks but pumpkin products should ACTUALLY contain pumpkin.
pumpkin

For those who read my blog regularly you also know I have a thing about truffle and bite-sized desserts. I haven’t met a baked good yet that I has left me gagging with disgust so portion control is a bit thing for me. A whole slice will be eaten, so scaling things down to bite-sized portions makes for better grab and go as well as better on the waist-line.

I am really watching what I eat at the moment as my weight is slightly up and we are heading into the holidays. Ken and I recently had a tragedy and put down our lovely girl Winnie cat. She had been suffering from renal failure since the summer. Worst-Best (for her) thing that I have ever done. I never wish the experience on anyone. We had been playing cat nurse for months, and I often opted to head home to spend time with her then to head to the gym. I let my exercise and food choices slide a bit. After the sickness had ended, I grabbed a can of pumpkin from the pantry and got back on the horse.

I hate that pumpkin is in 28 oz cans. That is A LOT of pumpkin to deal with all at once. In one can I made pumpkin biscotti, pumpkin chia pudding, pumpkin brownies and pumpkin truffles (featured here). Opening a can of pumpkin is a COMMITMENT.
So the next time you need 1/2 a cup of pumpkin and are trying to use the rest up, make up a batch of these for the fridge.
17569-12-pumpkin-spice-truffles_275x275

Pumpkin Protein Truffles

1/2 cup of pumpkin puree
1/2 cup of almond butter (or any nut butter-cashew would be awesome in this)
2 tbsp sf maple syrup
1 tbsp coconut oil (or FOC)
1/4 cup of vanilla protein powder
1 cup of almond flour + more if needed (see instructions)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
10 drops stevia
a dash of salt

Optional: 70% or higher chocolate bar (to melt for coating)

Implementation:
Mix almond butter, coconut oil (or FOC) with pumpkin until they are incorporated. Add maple syrup, stevia, and mix. Add the rest of the dry ingredients and give it a good stir. The consistency should be like a dough and when you mix the batter, it should be coming off the sides of your bowl. If not, then add 1/4 cup of almond flour at a time until this happens.

This seems loosey-goosey but it has a lot of do with what nut butter you used (some have more oil than others) and what type of almond flour you use (some are milled finer, absorb more liquid and therefore you use less)
Pumpkin spice cake mixed with cream cheese frosting

Roll into 30ish balls and pop in the fridge to chill overnight. I tested one for poison before they went into the fridge. You can leave it as is, or the next day nuke some chocolate, dip in the pumpkin truffle and coat. These are a good time.. they are spicy from the pumpkin spice and good for your soul. Nutrition on these varies dependent on nut butter and how much almond flour you ended up using.

For me I got for two large truffles : 171 calories, Carbs 6 (NET 3g), Fat 14g, Protein 8g, Sugars 2g
Winnie would have approved of this dessert! She liked when I puttered in the kitchen, always at my feet hoping for a little nibble.

winnie

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

