A Bit of the South in Your Mouth!

26 02 2014

While some people may think my title is a little “off-colour”, I can assure you it was a thought based solely on a very raunchy band we use to see at Lee’s Palace, called White Cowbell Oklahoma.
I kid you not… these guys were white trash Southerners way before Duck Dynasty and Moonshine Wars.

I have just come back from Tucson, Arizona, and had a fabulous time with my colleagues and may I just brag that the weather was F-ing awesome. After the grim weather this winter in Toronto, I was content to not have to wear socks.. let alone 85F weather every day. I didn’t pack the right clothing but I was not complaining about it AT ALL!
What I do miss when I am away is cooking, my husband, and my cranky cat Kelvin. I am home, and Ken has been eating freezer meals so the fridge is a bit sparse. I admit to getting a bit giddy when I have less stuff to use to make something… it is my own version of Chopped.
“Katherine you have two bananas, a carrot, 4 lbs of frozen pork shoulder and a crock pot, what will you make”… AHHHHH
your-crack-tastes-like-pulled-pork
So I have always wanted to make South Carolina BBQ sauce.. because I love a good mustard and let’s face it, the real southern tomatoe based ones are chock full of sugar. So looking in my fridge I had good ole French’s mustard, low carb ketchup and the wheels started turning.

South Carolina Low Carb BBQ Pulled Pork

1 pork shoulder, fat trimmed, and tied (ours was around 4lbs-no bone)
1 crock pot or large pot that is oven safe

1/2 cup French’s yellow mustard
1 tbsp Frank’s hot sauce
1/4 cup of sf maple syrup or honey if you use sugar
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup of sf or low carb ketchup *PC has an organic ketchup that is super low in sugar
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp liquid smoke
1/2 onion, grated into a pulp (so it mixes into the sauce)

SO this recipe is super easy to whip up but it does require some forethought as you need to marinate-neglect the pork coated with sauce in the fridge overnight up to 24 hours.

Rinse and pat dry pork shoulder, mix BBQ ingredients up and plop pork into a ziploc. Pour delicious BBQ sauce over pork and squeeze out all the air in the ziploc and toss it into the fridge overnight up to 24 hrs.

Fast forward to me making coffee the next morning. Grab porky ziploc and dump the entire thing into your crock pot OR (for better results) into a oven safe deep pot.
south pork
I added some slightly withered jalapenos because I figured they would impart flavour. I added about a 3/4 of a cup of water, and left the lid off.
Slip the pot into a 250 degree oven for 8 hours and let it do it’s thing. Pulled pork in the crock pot is dead easy but it lacks the formation of “bark” that crispy outer skin you get when you braise in the oven.
This is bark… that tasty crispy bit. You can also achieve this on the BBQ, but who wants to leave the BBQ on for like 8 hours?
bark
Either way you prepare it, it is delicious.
Let cool, and shred. Mix some of the sauce back into the shredded pork and put some of the South in your MOUTH.
Wait until you see what we did with the leftovers *cue suspenseful music here*
For another blog post!!

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 02 2014
Sonya

LOVE

26 02 2014
geokatgirl

It brings back memories, doesnt it Son? Gotta say I didnt miss the sweet sauce… and the crusty bits were awesome.

27 02 2014
geokatgirl

Bark photo is not the actual pork, just a shot of what “bark” is….

Leave a Reply

