HELLO Spring & Easter Lemon Bars

23 03 2014

Winter 2014 – please die!

My head space is into spring, and while the weather doesnt actually reflect Spring, my need to make springtime treats and foods is full on. We have had our first protein salad this past week and I am fixated on Easter treats, like carrot cake and lemony things.
spring

When I am take out my KA food processor, I usually like to use it a couple of times before I wash it, because washing all those components are a DRAG. I decided to whip these up and then wipe out the processor to shred some carrots, daikon radish and cabbage to make a “bitey” coleslaw. I call it a twofer. Best thing about this recipe is that is NO BAKE!!

Paleo Lemon Bars

2 cups raw cashews (pieces are cheaper and whole cashews)
1.5 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
1/4 cup sugar free maple syrup
8 drops vanilla stevia
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 tbsp fresh lemon juice**(see edit)
2 tbsp lemon zest

**EDIT(May 29th, 2014) My friend Lisi has an aversion to coconut and asked whether you could sub in large flake oatmeal. I tested this out last night and the answer is yes. Add the cup of oatmeal at the beginning as per the instructions. Reserve the 1/2 cup until after all the liquid goes in. IF after you add the last of the oatmeal, the mixture isn’t coming together as a dough, ADD another tbsp of lemon juice

Implementation:
Grab your food processor and throw in all the cashews, 1 cup of the coconut (reserve 1/2 cup for the end), and pulse until it is broken up. Throw in the lemon zest, lemon juice, stevia and maple syrup and whip it up until you start to get a dough forming. Add the last 1/2 cup of coconut flakes and pulse until incorporated.

Line a 8 x 8 pan with wax or parchment paper and press into the pan picking off a bit to pop into your mouth. YUM. Let it chill in the fridge for a couple of hours and cut into AT LEAST 16 pieces.
lemon bar

Nuts on this are dependent on how large you cut your tray of spring goodness. I am quoting for 16 squares but ended up cutting my squares in half again.
So for 16 squares:
Calories 149, Carbs 6 (NET 4g), Fat 12g, Protein 5g, Sugar 2g
Suck it winter!

Actions

Information

One response

27 05 2014
Lisi

Hey friend. Do you think this would work if I replaced the coconut with oats/oat flour?

Leave a Reply

