Chipolte Peanut Brittle

26 11 2010

I think I may be in slight mourning as the holiday season looms. In my former life I was a baker, an alchemist in the kitchen. I love to bake as it really is chemistry in the kitchen. Once I hit goal weight I decided to “figure out” how these new sugar alcohols work, react and work with them to make some of my old favourites and new favourites !
I tried this peanut brittle expecting it to fail and having to throw it out.

Chipolte Peanut Brittle

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup granulated erythritol
1/2 cup chopped peanuts
1/2 tsp chipolte powder (or vanilla if you want a sweet brittle)

Line a 8×8 inch pan with parchment paper and spray with some nonstick spray

melt butter in a thick bottomed saucepan over low heat. once melted turn the heat up to medium, and add erythritol and stir constantly until boils.(my brittle never boiled)
note the color at the beginning

I used a candy thermometer and it should hit 310 when it is done. The colour should have darkened to a caramel colour. The sugar alcohol caramelizes WAY faster than normal sugar, so watch it.
darkened up

add flavouring (chipolte or vanilla) and peanuts and pour into pan to cool.
It should be in the fridge for a couple of hours.

it worked !! it solidified like a brittle, a bit more grainy, and not as smooth as a sugar based brittle. As well, when you eat a piece of brittle, the erythritol cools your mouth a bit…which is a neat contrast with the chipolte which heats up your mouth.
Nuts on this is for the total pan… and however you break up the bits determines the per piece nutrition
the pan is 1452 calories, 144 g fat, 117 g carbs, 28 g protein

i got about 20 chunks and so the nuts were 73 calories, 7 g fat, 6 g carb and 1.5 g protein


Actions

Information

Leave a comment